Call me Chicken Little, but…

Take just a minute and consider this…

What would you do if you woke up in the morning and you had no electricity? No big deal right? Now, what if it stayed off for the next three weeks? Now you’ve lost all the items in your refrigerator and freezer. What will you cook tonight? Is it winter? Are you cold? Do you have little ones or furry ones who are cold too? How will you keep them warm? How will you eat? What’s next?

Don’t tune me out…it didn’t take an apocalypse to get here. This could be no more than a hurricane, a severe winter storm, or as little as a limb falling on you local power lines after a severe thunderstorm.

How long could you live in your home starting right now of you couldn’t leave and couldn’t receive any deliveries for the next month? How would those weeks play out for you? Would you be pretty stressed out? Would you get cold, hungry?

Maybe you would do pretty good…for a while. Maybe you would be pretty bad off from the get go. Maybe this is something you’ve never considered. Maybe you have thought on these things but you are not in a financial position to do anything differently anytime soon. Let’s begin to talk and share. Let’s discuss what you can afford, what you can reasonably do. And let’s discuss what you should do over time. How can you act now to prepare. How can you plan to prepare in the future? What is your perspective on emergency preparedness and planning? What would you do if finances and storage were not an issue?

I’ve been an emergency planner for the federal government for the last five years. I’ve worked in business continuity, occupant emergency planning, OSHA compliance, and pandemic planning. But besides this…this is my way of thinking….this is my way of life. This is my passion. And more than anything I want to share with you what I know and what I’ve learned. I want to motivate you to PREPARE. I want to find a way to give you the same spark and drive that burns within me.

So let’s talk and share. Let’s learn from one another. Let’s not be afraid. Instead, let’s get ready!


Leave a Reply

